Ways to Stay Busy Post-College

ToDoListI don’t know about you, but when I was in college, I kept myself very busy.  Sometimes, I got stressed out because of everything that was on my plate, but I liked always having something to do.  Downtime is nice, but you cherish it more the less you have.

When you’re in college, there is always so much going on.  I had a job and an internship while I was a full time student.  My job and internship took up over 40 hours and I was in class another 15 hours PLUS studying.  And on top of all that, I tried to have a social life.  I was part of a business organization that took up some of my time, although not as much once I got so busy.  Other people may have been part of Greek life or played a sport.  There’s so many opportunities to keep yourself busy in college.

However, once you graduate the opportunities to stay busy begin to dwindle.

Once you graduate and get a full time job, you typically work a 40 hour work week.  That leaves about 40 non sleeping hours a week to do other activities.  Now that you’re out of college, you don’t want to spend most of your time playing drinking games and watching Netflix.  Its always good to do something productive.

Here’s some things I found to do post graduation:

Blog1. Start a blog – I get to write about whatever I want.  I can reflect on things that have happened in my life or even in the world and display my opinion.  My blog is a place where I can voice my opinion about anything.

2. Cook – Cooking is a great thing to learn how to do.  Its much healthier and cheaper to cook meals rather than going out all the time.  You can learn to cook anything, but it does take time.

AtHomeWorkout3. Work out – Now that I’m out of college and getting older, it is important that I stay healthy.  Working out a few times a week is good for your body and health.  If joining a gym is too expensive, that’s ok.  You can do workouts at home by either buying workout dvds, using YouTube, or even your on demand.

4. Read – Reading is a good use of your time.  You can read pretty much anything, fiction, non-fiction, self help, or any genre that interests you most.

There are so many hobbies you can have that will occupy your time post college graduation.  You just need to find something that you enjoy.

Until next time…

2 thoughts on “Ways to Stay Busy Post-College

  1. Johng118 says:

    Good post. I study something more challenging on completely different blogs everyday. It is going to all the time be stimulating to learn content material from different writers and practice somewhat one thing from their store.

Leave a Reply

